Monday, June 24, 2013

Spontaneous Scholarships for SAA/CoSA joint annual meeting: June 30 deadline

In 2011, Kate Theimer, who comes up with more good ideas in a single week than I typically manage in an entire year, started the Spontaneous Scholarships, an informal program that helps to defray the cost of attending the annual meeting of the Society of American Archivists (SAA).  The scholarship pays only the conference registration fee -- applicants must pay their own travel, lodging, and meal costs -- and anyone who feels the need to ask for this form of support is welcome to do so. Kate collects the donations and awards the scholarships by drawing applicants' names out of a hat.  Spontaneous Scholarships helped make it possible for 26 students, new professionals, and other archivists in need to attend SAA's 2011 meeting in Chicago and for 34 people to attend the 2012 meeting in San Diego.

The deadline for applying for a Spontaneous Scholarship or donating to the Spontaneous Scholarship fund is June 30.  If you need a little help getting to the annual meeting this year, simply contact Kate, state that you're applying for a Spontaneous Scholarship, and let her know whether you're a regular or student member of SAA (NB: only SAA members may receive Spontaneous Scholarships). If you're interested in donating to the Spontaneous Scholarship fund, you have multiple options for doing so.  If you can donate only $5.00 or $10.00, that's okay. Every little bit helps.

And if you're going to the joint 2013 annual meeting of SAA and the Council of State Archivists (CoSA), which will be held in New Orleans on 11-17 August, here's a friendly reminder: Friday, 5 July is the deadline for registering at the Early Bird rate.  If you're a full member of SAA or CoSA and fail to register by 5 July, you'll have to pay an additional $50.00.  If you wait until after 15 July, you'll be on the hook for an additional $110.00.

Image: "Renascence" (1998) by Enrique Alferez, New Orleans Botanical Garden, New Orleans, Louisiana, 24 March 2010.

No comments: